Death Records and Death Certificates in Indiana

Indiana Death Records

Indiana’s population was recorded 6,732,219 on July 1, 2019, a 3.83% increase since the 2010 United States Census. The racial makeup of Indiana as of 2019 was 84.8% White American (78.4% non-Hispanic white), 9.9% Black or African American, 2.6% Asian, 2.2% biracial or multi-racial, 0.4% Native American, 0.1% Native Hawaiian and other Pacific Islanders.

This page is created to provide genealogists and researchers an ultimate guide to the state of Indiana death records. Use the links and the tips below for Indiana death records, certificates, online tools and databases. Additional information on how to obtain Indiana death certificates is available below.

How to Find a Death Record in Indiana

Indiana death records search

This webpage gives you access to all of the online databases containing Indiana death records, Indiana death certificates, Indiana death notices, Indiana death indexes, and other related Indiana genealogy records.

Indiana death records free

Below are some of the most comprehensive resource for death records in Indiana.

Indiana Death Index

Indiana death records database

Links to Indiana death and burial indexes and databases are as below:

Indiana social security death index

The Social Security Death Index contains information on millions of deceased individuals in Indiana with social security numbers whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration. Try the links below to search the index:

Public Death Record Indiana

In addition to the indexes and databases above, there are some other resources that gives to almost the same or might even more information about a deceased individual. Here are some to check out:

Indiana Death Certificates

How to get a death certificate in Indiana

Birth and death records were began on a county basis for Indiana in 1882. State level registration began for births in October, 1907, and in January, 1900 for deaths. Marriage records have been mandatory on a county level since before 1800. For birth records before 1907, death records before 1900, and for marriage records, write to the county clerk of the county in question. For birth records after 1907 and death records after 1900, write:

Indiana State Department of Health
Vital Records Section
2 North Meridian Street
Indianapolis, IN 46204

Indiana death certificates online

Use the links below to get death certificates and vital records in Indiana.

Indiana Death Notices

Check local newspapers and local online news websites which frequently publish notices. Use the link below for more information on Indiana news agencies.

Indiana counties for death record research

  • Adams County
  • Allen County
  • Bartholomew County
  • Benton County
  • Blackford County
  • Boone County
  • Brown County
  • Carroll County
  • Cass County
  • Clark County
  • Clay County
  • Clinton County
  • Crawford County
  • Daviess County
  • Dearborn County
  • Decatur County
  • DeKalb County
  • Delaware County
  • Dubois County
  • Elkhart County
  • Fayette County
  • Floyd County
  • Fountain County
  • Franklin County
  • Fulton County
  • Gibson County
  • Grant County
  • Greene County
  • Hamilton County
  • Hancock County
  • Harrison County
  • Hendricks County
  • Henry County
  • Howard County
  • Huntington County
  • Jackson County
  • Jasper County
  • Jay County
  • Jefferson County
  • Jennings County
  • Johnson County
  • Knox County
  • Kosciusko County
  • LaGrange County
  • Lake County
  • LaPorte County
  • Lawrence County
  • Madison County
  • Marion County
  • Marshall County
  • Martin County
  • Miami County
  • Monroe County
  • Montgomery County
  • Morgan County
  • Newton County
  • Noble County
  • Ohio County
  • Orange County
  • Owen County
  • Parke County
  • Perry County
  • Pike County
  • Porter County
  • Posey County
  • Pulaski County
  • Putnam County
  • Randolph County
  • Ripley County
  • Rush County
  • Scott County
  • Shelby County
  • Spencer County
  • St. Joseph County
  • Starke County
  • Steuben County
  • Sullivan County
  • Switzerland County
  • Tippecanoe County
  • Tipton County
  • Union County
  • Vanderburgh County
  • Vermillion County
  • Vigo County
  • Wabash County
  • Warren County
  • Warrick County
  • Washington County
  • Wayne County
  • Wells County
  • White County
  • Whitley County