Death Records and Death Certificates in Oklahoma

Oklahoma Death Records

Oklahoma’s population was recorded 3,956,971 on July 1, 2019, a 5.48% increase since the 2010 United States Census. Oklahoma’s racial composition as of 2010 was 68.7% white, 8.2% American Indian and Alaska Native, 7.3% black or African American, 1.7% Asian, 0.1% Native Hawaiian and Other Pacific Islander, 0.1% from some other race, and 5.1% of two or more races. 8.9% of Oklahoma’s population was of Hispanic, Latino, or Spanish origin.

This page is created to provide genealogists and researchers an ultimate guide to the state of Oklahoma death records. Use the links and the tips below for Oklahoma death records, certificates, online tools and databases. Additional information on how to obtain Oklahoma death certificates is available below.

How to Find a Death Record in Oklahoma

Oklahoma death records search

This webpage gives you access to all of the online databases containing Oklahoma death records, Oklahoma death certificates, Oklahoma death notices, Oklahoma death indexes, and other related Oklahoma genealogy records.

Oklahoma death records free

Below are some of the most comprehensive resource for death records in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Death Index

Oklahoma death records database

Links to Oklahoma death and burial indexes and databases are as below:

Oklahoma social security death index

The Social Security Death Index contains information on millions of deceased individuals in Oklahoma with social security numbers whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration. Try the links below to search the index:

Public Death Record Oklahoma

In addition to the indexes and databases above, there are some other resources that gives to almost the same or might even more information about a deceased individual. Here are some to check out:

Oklahoma Death Certificates

How to get a death certificate in Oklahoma

Statewide recording of births and deaths for Oklahoma began in October 1908, although compliance was incomplete for as long as two decades. Registration was mandated in 1917, but it was another decade before 90-percent compliance was attained. Although county clerks record births and deaths and provide information on request, certificates are available only from the state Vital Records Section. For birth and death records from October 1908, write:

Oklahoma Department of Health
Division of Vital Records
1000 Northeast 10th Street
Room 117
P.O. Box 53551
Oklahoma City, OK 73152-3551

Oklahoma death certificates online

Use the links below to get death certificates and vital records in Oklahoma.

Oklahoma Death Notices

Check local newspapers and local online news websites which frequently publish notices. Use the link below for more information on Oklahoma news agencies.

Oklahoma counties for death record research

  • Adair County
  • Alfalfa County
  • Atoka County
  • Beaver County
  • Beckham County
  • Blaine County
  • Bryan County
  • Caddo County
  • Canadian County
  • Carter County
  • Cherokee County
  • Choctaw County
  • Cimarron County
  • Cleveland County
  • Coal County
  • Comanche County
  • Cotton County
  • Craig County
  • Creek County
  • Custer County
  • Delaware County
  • Dewey County
  • Ellis County
  • Garfield County
  • Garvin County
  • Grady County
  • Grant County
  • Greer County
  • Harmon County
  • Harper County
  • Haskell County
  • Hughes County
  • Jackson County
  • Jefferson County
  • Johnston County
  • Kay County
  • Kingfisher County
  • Kiowa County
  • Latimer County
  • Le Flore County
  • Lincoln County
  • Logan County
  • Love County
  • Major County
  • Marshall County
  • Mayes County
  • McClain County
  • McCurtain County
  • McIntosh County
  • Murray County
  • Muskogee County
  • Noble County
  • Nowata County
  • Okfuskee County
  • Oklahoma County
  • Okmulgee County
  • Osage County
  • Ottawa County
  • Pawnee County
  • Payne County
  • Pittsburg County
  • Pontotoc County
  • Pottawatomie County
  • Pushmataha County
  • Roger Mills County
  • Rogers County
  • Seminole County
  • Sequoyah County
  • Stephens County
  • Texas County
  • Tillman County
  • Tulsa County
  • Wagoner County
  • Washington County
  • Washita County
  • Woods County
  • Woodward County