Death Records and Death Certificates in North Dakota

North Dakota Death Records

North Dakota’s population was recorded 762,062 on July 1, 2019, a 13.30% increase since the 2010 United States Census. According to the 2010 Census, the racial and ethnic composition of North Dakota was 90.0% White American (88.7% non-Hispanic white), 5.4% Native American, 1.2% Black or African American, 1.0% Asian, 0.1% Pacific Islander, 0.5% some other race, and 0.2% multiracial American.

This page is created to provide genealogists and researchers an ultimate guide to the state of North Dakota death records. Use the links and the tips below for North Dakota death records, certificates, online tools and databases. Additional information on how to obtain North Dakota death certificates is available below.

How to Find a Death Record in North Dakota

North Dakota death records search

This webpage gives you access to all of the online databases containing North Dakota death records, North Dakota death certificates, North Dakota death notices, North Dakota death indexes, and other related North Dakota genealogy records.

North Dakota death records free

Below are some of the most comprehensive resource for death records in North Dakota.

North Dakota Death Index

North Dakota death records database

Links to North Dakota death and burial indexes and databases can be found on this page.

North Dakota social security death index

The Social Security Death Index contains information on millions of deceased individuals in North Dakota with social security numbers whose deaths were reported to the Social Security Administration. Try the links below to search the index:

Public Death Record North Dakota

In addition to the indexes and databases above, there are some other resources that gives to almost the same or might even more information about a deceased individual. Here are some to check out:

North Dakota Death Certificates

How to get a death certificate in North Dakota

A state law passed in 1893 made it mandatory to file vital records with township clerks. It was repealed in 1895 but re-enacted in 1899. The State Department of Vital Records was eventually formed in 1923, and all copies of prior birth and death information were required to be sent there. Marriage records generally dating from county organization can be obtained from the county judge of the county where the license was issued. Only marriage records after 1 July 1925 are on file at the Division of Vital Records in Bismarck. For birth and death records from 1 July 1893 to present and marriage records from 1 July 1925 to present, write:

Division of Vital Records
State Department of Health
600 East Boulevard Avenue
Bismarck, North Dakota 58505-0200

North Dakota death certificates online

Use the links below to get death certificates and vital records in North Dakota.

North Dakota Death Notices

Check local newspapers and local online news websites which frequently publish notices. Use the link below for more information on North Dakota news agencies.

North Dakota counties for death record research

  • Adams County
  • Barnes County
  • Benson County
  • Billings County
  • Bottineau County
  • Bowman County
  • Burke County
  • Burleigh County
  • Cass County
  • Cavalier County
  • Dickey County
  • Divide County
  • Dunn County
  • Eddy County
  • Emmons County
  • Foster County
  • Golden Valley County
  • Grand Forks County
  • Grant County
  • Griggs County
  • Hettinger County
  • Kidder County
  • LaMoure County
  • Logan County
  • McHenry County
  • McIntosh County
  • McKenzie County
  • McLean County
  • Mercer County
  • Morton County
  • Mountrail County
  • Nelson County
  • Oliver County
  • Pembina County
  • Pierce County
  • Ramsey County
  • Ransom County
  • Renville County
  • Richland County
  • Rolette County
  • Sargent County
  • Sheridan County
  • Sioux County
  • Slope County
  • Stark County
  • Steele County
  • Stutsman County
  • Towner County
  • Traill County
  • Walsh County
  • Ward County
  • Wells County
  • Williams County